I Stood

I wanted to do something for Black History Month

   I Stoodfreedom

I stood

When they watched us get on the bus

Stood

When they kicked us, tripped us and stepped on our feet

Stood

When they yelled obscenities and spat on us

Stood

When they wouldn’t let the bus move

Stood

When they cut the tires, then set the bus on fire

Stood

When they wouldn’t let us out

Stood

When the smoke darken the bus

Stood

When the smoke filled our lungs

Stood

When they finally let us out

Stood

When they beat on me while I tried to breathe clean air

Stood

When the shots rang out and the crowd disperse

Stood

When the gash on my head bleed out across my eyes

Stood

When a little white girl gave me water to drink and wiped my face

Stood

When I couldn’t go to their hospital

Stood

When my eyes and lips were too swollen to eat

Stood

When the next day came, I got back on the bus

I stood

And I’m still standing.

 

Copyright © 2013 Glynis Rankin

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what did you think?

