Velveteen

Velveteen
Poem Image

The velveteen blackness engulfed me in its folds, as a sudden breeze sprung up, chilling the night skies. The silence awoke, with a loud shriek, as an owl hooted with its kill.

Growing into a gust, the wind hissed; then moaned in the gloom.

Something moved to my right, chilling me with fright.

Just the wind, I thought when it moved again.

Just the wind, stirring the bushes and trees in its gales.

I squinted to see, though the velveteen. “Who’s there,” I yelled in the night.

However, no sound in response, except the howl of the wind.

Yet, the night moved again.

A shiver ran my spine, at the sight of the unnatural thing, as it revealed its self to me.

What I saw chilled my blood.

This thing, a purple black smudge for skin, stood tall against the blue black of the night.

My scalp seemed to crawl, then tighten, as it held me in its hollow stare.

I don’t know how long it held me frozen in its coal gaze; but when it released me, I felt liquid and sated

I watched amazed, as it crouch, before scurrying away.

As it disappeared in the night, it called out my name in the moaning of the wind.

“Velveteen”

copyright@2013 Glynis Rankin

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what did you think?

