Picture it & Write

Winter’s walk

A cold breeze crossed my face as I walked.  I took in the refreshing frigid air into my lungs and  stopped to stare at the splendor of the snow-covered world that surrounds me.

It’s quiet within  the stark whiteness of the fresh fallen snow in the forest of my winter wonderland. It called me, beckoning me to venture out into it’s frosty wasteland.

I walk further out  through the crisp snow greeted by  animals playing happily and  birds flying high in the blue grey sky.

I march absently for hours,  treading through thick snow, but my feet and hands aren’t frozen nor is it hard to breath against the strong winter’s gust.

While I ponder this I saw  a path, where the snow is thick and lush. A virgin trail not yet trampled. I stare down this path of crisp whiteness and a daunting  feeling overcome me.  I pondered whether to go back, and found myself stepping away from  this unknown route when suddenly the wind changed.

Quickly, I turned to run back the way I had come. I ran as fast as I could, but it was too late.  I stopped, already feeling my lost.

I stared at my feet and started to cry. They had already begun to melt.

Copyright © 2013 Glynis Rankin

11 comments

  1. Oh, the intrigue! I was wondering what exactly had ‘melted’. First I thought she was referring to her feet, as if she was an ice sculpture herself. Then I thought it was the path, and she had lost her way back home. It made me think. That is sometimes the price of walking down a path less known, you can end up lost. But hopefully not forever. Thanks for contributing this week, Glynis! 🙂

    – Ermisenda

    1. Thank you Ermilia.
      I left this opened to the interpretation of the reader. It’s all in one’s perception. I’m so glad you like it.

    1. Ms. Vee. Thank you for showing this little story some love.

      You know, I hadn’t looked at this short tale in that way. But now that you have brought it to my attention. I see how that could be true.

      This was just a prompt for the picture. The idea came to me so fast that I didn’t have time to think about it any further than just writing it down.

      How insightful you are to show me something in my writing that I did not see. 8)

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what did you think?

