Picture it & Write/First Hunt

“Kim!” John whispered loudly. He jerked his head in the direction of this evenings prey, the tasty beast hiding in the tall grass.

I was the only woman on the hunt today. The tribe frowned on women hunters, but I didn’t have a choice.  The tribal rules stated that if no member of a family participated in the hunt, that family did not eat.  My mate was killed in the last hunt, my father died shortly before I was born. I had no brothers, so it was left to me to hunt for the family.

The hunt for food was dangerous because the prey never gave in easily. They fought back aggressively, causing the death of many great hunters like my mate.  This was my first hunt, and I was scared, but I had to think about my children and their survival.

John signaled the others to move around to flank the beast. He told me before we left that our attack would come from three sides, forcing the beast to run in the only direction it can, to the snare that will seriously maim it. “My job,” he said, “was bait.”

I stood frozen as the large beast emerged from the grass. Thick hair covered it’s face while it bared long stained teeth in a snarl. My heart raced as I watched it reached down to grab a stick. It said something I couldn’t understand, as it lumbered menacingly through the grass over to me.

I knew I was supposed to remain still, be the opened target, but I saw this thing’s intentions in it’s dark eyes as it glared at me.  It would kill me given a chance, like my mate and father before, it would have me for it’s meal.

My fear grew with every step it took. I thought about my children, who would care for them if I was gone, how would they survive?  I held my ground, yet my fear kept growing, choking me until I finally took flight. That’s when I heard the hunter’s cry as they swarmed down on the human, our prey for the night.

Copyright © 2013 Glynis Rankin

24 comments

  1. While reading it, I felt this detached sense of emotion. It seemed so direct and raw. I was kind of surprised that she didn’t seem to fussed about the ‘mate’ dying. By the end, it made even more sense and I applaud you. A great twist! Thanks for contributing this week, Glynis. 🙂

    – Ermisenda

  2. Hehe! When the men snarl and I see stained teeth, I leave them for more desperate hunters! I like the way you made it feel like you were human at first, but then the human was your prey.

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what did you think?

