Bitter Cup

The bitter nectar

from your cruel years

Fell from my face

  My cup runneth over

 I drank from that cup

 Of harshness and pain

Without a chaser

Letting it fill the creases

Of a soul dry-heaving with shame

I drank until I got high on life lessons

Until my world became sane

to acknowledged the blessing

I drank until I overdose

Until true strength

I could boast

I drank of those bitters

took them all down

I drank until I had no more

until my cup ran dry

 

Copyright © 2013 Glynis Rankin

 

4 comments

    1. Hey Sophie

      I’m so glad you got to understand this sad piece. I’ve been known to go a bit overboard in my work at times.

      Thank you for reading this and your lovely comment:-)

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what did you think?

