Shameless

Yeah this is another shameless plug for my book The Between 

This comptemparay drama is about a woman forced to attend her  family’s yearly reunion after missing many years. She will meet beloved cousins, cherished aunts and uncles and family members you will just love to hate while trying to seem joyous to see them all.

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

 

Michele has felt like an outcast in her family for many years. That was fine because she made her own family.  Yet she has lost a great deal in the past few years, her baby and now her husband. Her world has suddenly turned upside down.  

  Michele’s mother forces her to attend the Franklin Family’s yearly reunion. It couldn’t have come at a worst time in her life now having to deal with her divorce.   But it’s actually here among family that she will have her eyes opened to what family really means.

coverpic3d (2)

Excerpt

The variety of cars, trucks and vans along this stretch of the narrow two-lane highway, which ran in front of my childhood home, cluttered the road. It took me a while, but I managed to find a spot between a truck and minivan to park my Ford Explorer. I kept it in drive while gazing out of the passenger’s window, debating whether to just keep driving.

It seemed every member of my extended family attended this year’s welcoming party, delighted to mark the start of the reunion. Yet around these people and their happy smiling faces, I wasn’t joyful or amused. In fact I felt depressed looking at their carefree faces enjoying this late summer day.

I turned the steering wheel to pull away, with freedom within my grasp. That’s when I heard the high pitched voice of my eldest sister Janis, calling out to me.

“Michele, come say hello to everyone!”  She demanded.

I sighed, defeated.

Copyright © 2013 Glynis Rankin

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what did you think?

