Atrocity

No Wednesday Writing Wisdom this week, instead a little introspect.   This week marks the 12th anniversary of 9/11.  A fellow blogger asked what were we doing during the attacks.This is my answer, its simply called Atrocity

I had worked a long sixteen hour shift at the hospital the day before, the day that will live in infamy, and was looking forward to a long day of rest.  I was asleep when the sound of loud banging startled me awake.

It was my sister banging and yelled through the closed door. “Turn on the TV!”

I stirred pissed, “What!”

“A plane flew into the Twin tower,” she screamed.

Her words were implausible, but the panic in her voice had me grabbing the remote. “What channel?”

“Every channel!”

The tube showed the first tower engulfed in smoke and flames, people staring up at it bewildered. The commentator talked about the fire department and police, but like so many others on the street I gawked at that burning building. “What happened,” I asked, jumping out of bed to open the door.

“They don’t know.”

We sat in the den stun, watching the events unfold.

“No one knows what’s going on?” she said, shaking her head

We kept our eyes on the televisions, while I flapped from station to station reading the tickers. Each had different information about one thing or an other, but she was right it seemed no one knew what was happening. I kept it on CNN they had people on the ground.

It was just moments later when the unthinkable occurred. A second plane struck the second tower and the horrific scene of two ragging infernos made the world gasped in horror.  It wasn’t much later that we were getting reports of more planes and more death, but they became the backdrop to what was unfolding in New York.

More information was coming from commentators and crawled across the ticker, as scenes of people jumping from windows, running from buildings and ashen- faced heroes tore at my soul.

Hours passed and so did the towers. One by one, they fell down like children blocks taking with them more lives. God! I was dumbfounded at what I was witnessing.

“Oh my God!” My hands covered my mouth, a mask to shield me from the loss of life, while listening, reading and the unimaginable, buildings falling into ash.

The streets were covered in the dust and debris of  building and human remains. A cloud of the atrocity inhaled while people ran covering their mouths.

There weren’t any sounds that day, no birds singing or cars horns blaring, nothing. It was like the earth felt our loss, when the commentator said, “This was an Act of Terrorism.”

My heart ached at the loss of life, the suffering and pain of mothers, fathers, sisters and brothers.

Those words echoed in my mind as I wept, feeling small in a world that had gone mad.

 

Copyright © 2013 Glynis Rankin

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what did you think?

