Flashback Thursday/ Ironside the Reboot

Last night was the debut of Blair  Underwood’s remake of Ironside. The classic ’60s and ’70s detective drama starring Raymond Burr ( Perry Mason)  as the tough wheelchair-bound captain, Robert T. Ironside that ran for nearly 200 episodes with impressive ratings.

Underwood has decided to take on the  paraplegic detective this fall but “this is not your mama’s ‘Ironside.  He is a detective in a wheelchair from a gunshot wound, but other than that everything else has been imagined, Underwood claims.

I saw the original in reruns and  this new reboot version last night. I’m a fan of Underwood and thought I was going to miss this hunky actor’s sexy swagger.  I wasn’t disappointed though, Underwood brought his A game to this role. He even convinced me that he owned that chair and yes he added a bit of the sexy. ( The actor’s mother, Marilyn, is in a wheelchair as the result of multiple sclerosis.)

There has been a number of reboots of late that I haven’t seen and didn’t want to see. But I thought this was a pretty good reboot of an old classic. Well done

Ironside 

Copyright © 2013 Glynis Rankin

8 comments

  1. Oh-kay, youngin’s (I couldn’t resist!)–I remember the original Ironside when it was on the ol’ noisebox back in the days of UHF/VHF and barely-color TV with “rabbit ears” 🙂 I too watched this “reboot” and was pleasantly surprised. I’ve not been a big Underwood fan but have loosely followed his career. He did a good job. No one will ever be Perry/Raymond, but why try and recreate a masterpiece without a good update? Hats off to Mr. Underwood and I hope it does well!

    1. Girl, who! I remember those old boxes and UHF/VHF but I didn’t watch Ironside until I was older in reruns and wow. That Mark Sanger (Don Mitchell) was a sexy brother keep that fro in check.
      Thanks AR
      I hope it does well too.

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what did you think?

