Daily Prompt: Did you hear what I heard?

Daily Prompt: Hear No Evil

Tell us about a conversation you couldn’t help but overhear and wish you hadn’t.

“Did you hear what I heard?”

” Do you know what I know?”

That started the conversation between two old ladies, one in front of me the other behind. We stood at the check out line. I had rushed inside to get a loaf of bread, but the place was crowded even at the 15 items or less line.

I was stuck between these two women who insisted on talking about a woman and her children.They were going on and on about how she wasn’t caring for her children and had men over all hours of the night.  It was torture, but then they called  a name that I recognized.

It was the woman’s daughter. I had just fought with the girl a day before at school over something stupid.  I was getting really good dirt on the girl and her mother that I was planning on using.

By the time it was my turn to check out I didn’t want to leave, but I had gotten enough to ruin my rival.  While driving home I was so in gross in what I was going to say to that girl in front of the whole school when I got back that I wasn’t paying attention to the road.

It took only a moment of inattentiveness and I almost had a car accident.  It took that near miss to make me realize that gossip  and revenge was a deadly mix.

5 comments

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what did you think?

