Why Review?

I’ve decided to start a monthly Book review.  I’ve met some writers along this long hard road to publication.  There have been some with wonder stories that have inspired me. I think it’s only right to let others know how wonderful and not so wonderful some of those stories have been, thus reviews.

So why am I reviewing?

Mostly as a way of giving back to the universe. Reviews help authors with exposure, gain an audience, credibility with readers and publishing professionals, as well as, perhaps increasing sales. They also help  consumers to be better informed before purchasing a book.

Reviews also give you a change to talk about what you’ve just read.  What you liked about it or didn’t like, what you felt after you finished, what you came away with after reading a book.  How many times have you wanted to talk about a book you just read and realized that your immediate family don’t care. By venting in a review, I purge myself for the next story down the line.

Reviewing teaches you a lot about yourself. You quickly find out what you like and dislike, what to stay away from and try more of, what works and what you need to work on in your own writing. Reviews can help make you a better writer.

Reviews can help you focus, provide an education, and support an author. Self publishing is hard, sharing a review can mean life to an author. It’s the single most important thing they have to get the word out about their work.

I’ve become a reviewer, because I am a writer.

~~~~

If you would like to have me review your book, please check out my Believe Review page.

2 comments

  1. Welcome to the review game 🙂 It’s time consuming, but ultimately worth it — and you find so many great new books that you would have never read otherwise!

    Word of warning — when I first announced I was ready to review books, I got about 50 requests. I’m still wading through them. So be prepared to either do a lot of reading, or a lot of turning people away!

    1. Thank you so much Michelle for your kind words! I have to tell you that I’m a bit excited and scared about doing this. I hope I don’t let anyone down. Its something I’ve wanted to try, fingers crossed, that it works out. Thanks again for the support. 🙂

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what did you think?

