Reader Store Closing

 

Not everyone these days see a future in eReader. Last week Sony announced that they would be closing their popular Reader stores in the U.S. and Canada. Transferring their customers to the Toronto-based reading company, Kobo.

Reader™ Store clients will have the choice of transferring over to Kobo Books before the closing takes place on 20 March 2014 at 6pm EST. You can go to the Sony’s Blog to find out more about the closing and how it will affect you.

I’m really sorry that Sony is exiting the book selling business.  I read somewhere recently that there were few customers left – and for me, I certainly haven’t seen many out and about with Sony readers.

That said, their site was one of the best organized -listing not only the publisher’s name, date published, and reviews, which really helps potential readers in choosing books.

I have to say that I’m not impressed with Kobo or the Nook sites and wonder what is next. Google Play isn’t even Epub friendly.

This announcement means that the Kindle will continue to rule, the reader market.  I love competition and thought out of all the readers Sony Reader would challenge Kindle reign. I didn’t think Kobo was going to survive against these giants, but I guess I was wrong.

I’m disappointed that Sony has decided to abandon the Reader market.

 

Copyright © 2013 Glynis Rankin

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what did you think?

