Disney Finally Got It Right!

When I was a child back when Disney films were nothing more than one dimensional  cartoons, rather than these amazing 3D computer-animated wonders. I never really like watching them.

As an African American girl whose heroes were strong women taking care of their family, home and worked. Disney ideas of womanhood were a bit confusing. They just didn’t appeal to this a headstrong, wellfulled tomboy. I saw  Disney characters, many of whom weren’t my color, as weak.

Even after watching the Frog Princess, based on  Brothers Grimm‘s Frog Prince. Disney attempt at having a strong character with their hardworking African American princess, Tianna. It was a nice effort, but it still didn’t appeal to me.

Mulan was a good, yet she still had that same old Disney polish and shine. I had actually stopped watching their movies, especially now that my only niece is old enough to take her daughter.

Over the months I’ve heard the buzz about this movie Frozen. Disney’s 3D computer-animated musical fantasy-comedy film, that’s loosely based on Hans Christian Andersen‘s fairy tale The Snow Queen. I gave in and went to watch it a few weeks ago and I have to say, “I think Disney finally got it right!

Elsa and Anna are sisters and princesses. They get each other and have a bond that only they share. It’s that self-sacrificing bond that makes this story so appealing.

Disney got one over on all of us that were brought up on the insta-love plot model.  Not only that, the hero wasn’t either of the male love interest, but a heroine!  Anna saved her sister and herself. How amazing is that in a story for  girls. I walked away from the theater beaming with hope. “Wow! I never saw that coming!”

The independence and strong-well of the main characters, the debunked tried and true romantic Disney plot line, the bond of family, that surprising end along with the amazing self-affirming sound track, discounting ” Love is an Open Door.” makes Frozen my all time favorite Disney Film to date.

Well, now I think I might give Brave a chance, after all it seems Self-actualized princesses are all the rage over at Disney films.

4 comments

    1. Hey Girl!!
      Thanks for stopping by. Yes I have seen Brave, its one of my favorites. I loved it! I had no know that there was going to be a Frozen 2. Thanks for the heads up!

  1. I’ve not seen it yet, but my daughter, son-in-law and 17 year old granddaughter loved it. I’ll have to buy it when it comes out on DVD here on 24th April. Speaking of heroines who rock, have you seen Pixar’s Brave?

    1. NO! but that is what I mean! We need more of those kinds of stories for our girls so they can feel that they can be empowered women.

      But I thought it was a Disney movie,,Duh! I need to know my facts before posting I guess. 🙂
      Thank Lyn!

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what did you think?

