My Writing Progress ~ Blog Tour

Before I begin I want to thank Chris-Jean Clarke for inviting me to this “My Writing Process” blog tour, where writers and authors answer questions about their writing process to give a little insight about how they work and the methods they use in an attempt to help other writers.

Chris-Jean Clarke is the author of preteen and children’s stories.  The assumption most people have about writers, is that writing is a  lonely profession. Although she’s currently juggling promoting her preteen story Red, and raising her two lovely children, Chris-Jean has join forces with other writers to form the Peacock Writers .

They are a group of authors and artists from around the world that join together in the spirit of giving, by sharing their short stories, poems, and artwork to create an ongoing anthology. You can find out more about Chris-Jean Clarke at her  Show and Tell Book Site, and read her answers to these question.

Now My Writing Progress.

1)      What am I working on?

I  have many projects in the works at the moment; a compilation of psychological thrillers, editing a paranormal suspense novel and a WIP YA Paranormal/ Urban Fantasy. The one that’s keeping me up at night is the YA novel called Believe. It’s a coming of age  story about a  fourteen year-old girl, a ward of the state living in foster care. When after a series of horrible mishaps, she’ll becomes keenly aware of her fanciful heritage.  It’s my first outlined story, writing it step by step. Its giving me fits, that I can’t just jump ahead.

 

2)      How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I don’t consider myself a genre driven writer for one. As a Speculative writer, I blur the lines of genres, seeing the world not in black and white, but in a multiple of colors. Consider my story Believe,  it’s basically a coming of age story, but the blurred lines are werewolves and clairvoyance. It’s fantasy and paranormal. We live in a  multifaceted world, so why not write in multigenres.

 

3)      Why do I write what I do?

Growing up, my world was an Urban fantasy. I saw abuse, abandonment, murder, and people surviving by selling themselves all while normal people gain entrance into the Legendary League, for standing up against what they saw as injustice with a little magical thing called Faith.

I watched shows like Star Trek, Twilight Zone, Out of Limits and Alfred Hitchcock. My heroes became the strong women in my life, and movie characters like Foxy Brown and Coffy. These marked my world with the possibility.

But my greatest influence was my maternal grandmother who was a prophet in her church. She tutored me in keeping my eyes open, to see the impossible occurring in everyday life. Her influence taught me that we are more than just the physical, but a part of a bigger existence that connects us to the spirit, each other and the world.

My motto is: “ I write the unbelievable because the unbelievable exist.”

 

4)      How does your writing process work?

I’m not as organized as I would like, but I’m beginning  to see the value in outlining the story and working from there.  I’m a Non-linear thinker, letting the creative side of me run rampant, jumping from here to there.  I usually write from a single idea that pops in my head, spending time with it, in my little corner of a room near a window.  I’ll spend my day on that one part of the story. It could be as simple as a conversation between characters,  an act,  or  scenery, but once that’s done I have a base of a story and I can go from there. I don’t know how but  it comes together in the end.

Who’s up next week?

: Bestselling author Angela Kay Austin has expressed herself through words for as long as she can remember.  Poems became songs performed with her cousin at every family gathering.  But, eventually, short stories filled her favorite pink diary.  An infatuation with music and theater led to years playing various instruments and small extra roles in TV shows before giving way to a degree and career in radio and TV production.  After completing another degree in marketing, Angela found herself combining her love for all things creative and worked for many many years in promotions and advertising.  But once again, she found herself writing, which led to her first published work which stayed on her publisher’s bestseller list for ten weeks.  Her second release hit the bestseller list at All Romance eBooks. She’s spoken on author panels, and served on boards for various author groups.  When she’s not writing, you can find her reading her favorite authors, or researching her next story idea.  Angela shares her downtime with her mixed-bred rescue terrier—Midnight, in the beautiful southern state of Tennessee. You can connect with her at  Angela Kay Austin

AR Neal: Mother, wife, dreamer, writer. First and foremost a child of the Lord. She got bit by the writing bug back in the late 1970’s while watching Rod Serling and reading Ray Bradbury; although she has worked in education for more than a quarter-century, she has never been cured of her penchant for Speculative Fiction. She’s the author of Adventures in Cargo City. You can connect with AR on her blog One Starving Activist.

Copyright © 2013 Glynis Rankin

 

 

Copyright © 2013 Glynis Rankin

5 comments

  1. I’m definitely a jumper when it comes to writing. I actually started out writing linearly and then realized that I just need to write what’s in my head that day. If I can’t stop thinking about chapter twenty… even if I’m on chapter three… I need to write chapter twenty. Because it’s never going to be as good as right now when my muse is pulling me that way. Wow… that sounded sort of pretentious… That might be the first time I’ve used “muse” in a non-ironic way or not talking about Greek mythology.

    Great post. And hi! This is the first time I’ve commented.

    1. Hey Jennifer!
      Thank you for commenting! Because You Definitely hit the nail on the head! When lighting strikes you need to put pen to paper no matter where you are in the story.
      This step by step deal is driving me crazy, and its why I’ve stopped this linearly pathway. I’m still making an outline, but this non-linear craziness of jumping around, that’s my normal!
      Thanks Jennifer, for letting me know I’m not alone.

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what did you think?

